Honorary Degrees and **Distinguished Awards** Committee Spring 2022

<u>http://fora.aa.ufl.edu/FacultySenate/Committees/</u> <u>Honorary-Degrees-and-Distinguished-Awards-Committee</u> Committee: Eight faculty members (Professor or above with strong records of teaching and research from diverse fields) elected by the Faculty Senate Chair: Elected by committee

2021–22 COMMITTEE MEMBERS

- Rick Yost, Chair
- Heather Ashley
- Paul Basler
- James Collins
- Lindsey Farah

- Berta Hernandez-Truyol
- Raymond Issa
- Mario Poceski
- Ruth Steiner, Chair Elect
- Michael Weigold

Spring 2022 Candidate for Honorary Degree:

Chris Malachowsky

Chris Malachowsky)- HD of Technology

- Co-founder of NVIDIA
- Author of over 30 patents
- Serves on multiple boards for charitable foundations and non-profits
- Earned his BSEE at UF in 1980
- Received UF Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2011
- Serves on College of Engineering Dean's Advisory Board and UF Foundation Executive Board
- Contributed \$25 million (plus an equal amount from NVIDIA) to UF for our AI program